RSS

You’re Invited: A Ladies Tea & Bike Social

07 Aug

You are cordially invited to a Ladies Tea & Bike Social on Saturday the seventeenth of August, two thousand and thirteen at eleven o’clock in the morning at the Elizabeth Gamble Garden in Palo Alto, California.

When I started daily bike commuting three years ago, Dottie and Trisha of Let’s Go Ride a Bike became a major influence on how I ride. I stumbled upon their blog one Saturday and ended up reading for hours. Coming from a sport-oriented bike background, their how-tos and stories of how they ride around town in dresses and heels and arrive looking great in all sorts of weather were eye-opening to say the least. I owe them a world of thanks.

Their influence doesn’t stop with dressing for the destination. For over two years Dottie has been hosting monthly Women-Who-Bike and Brunch gatherings in Chicago. The women ride to a cafe for brunch or a park for a picnic to chat and share their experiences. It’s just the kind of kinship women often seek out in an activity that’s predominantly male. Now it’s my turn to follow Dottie’s lead and play host out here on the West Coast.

Tea in Garden

So, for all you women who bike in the San Francisco Bay Area, I’m hosting a Ladies Tea & Bike Social at the lovely and historic Elizabeth Gamble Garden in Palo Alto with the Silicon Valley Bicycle Coalition on Saturday, August 17. It’s the perfect season for a garden party: the dahlias and zinnias are in bloom, the apples are ripening in the orchard, and the weather is ideal for morning tea under the old oak tree.

We’ll bring the tea, you bring your favorite tea cup and cookies or a tea time snack to share. Hats and gloves are encouraged, but not required. What’s really important is bringing your desire to meet other women who ride in our area to share stories, share advice and just relax in the company of other bicycle-loving ladies. Word on the street is that Corinne Winter, executive director of the Silicon Valley Bicycle Coalition will be joining us too.

For those riding up from the south or arriving by Caltrain, I’ll also be leading a pre-party ride starting at Caltrain’s San Antonio Station in Mountain View at 10:25, timed for the #427 train from San Jose & #448 train from San Francisco. The route is about four miles one way along low traffic, mostly shady neighborhood streets. I’ll be pulling a trailer full of teapots and tablecloths so the pace at the back of the group will be easy.

Will you join us? Please RSVP to ladyfleur500@gmail.com so we’ll know to bring enough tea for everyone, and don’t forget your tea cup. I’d love to meet some of you ladies that I only know in the virtual world.


Ladies Tea & Bike Social at the Elizabeth Gamble Garden, 1431 Waverly Street, Palo Alto, California
Saturday, August 17, 2013, 11:00 am – 1:00 pm. RSVP ladyfleur500@gmail.com

 
8 Comments

Posted by on August 7, 2013 in Around Town

 

8 responses to “You’re Invited: A Ladies Tea & Bike Social

  1. RoZa

    August 7, 2013 at 12:59 pm

    I am so sad that I have to miss the party. I won’t be back on the bike for another 3 weeks after taking a downhill turn too fast on the tandem. I hope y’all have fun and that there is a next time.

     
  2. whybike

    August 8, 2013 at 8:13 pm

    Great idea – I’ll have to try this in Chicago this fall!

     
  3. l

    August 9, 2013 at 9:35 am

    Thumb Up! Wish you (all) every success in this. 🙂

    l

     
  4. Psy

    August 10, 2013 at 1:42 pm

    Aww, I’ll be out of town next weekend! But if this becomes a regular event I will definitely make it a goal to attend with a box of macarons :]!

     
  5. Elizabeth

    August 13, 2013 at 7:51 am

    This sounds great. I’ve been envious of the bicycle brunches and other get togethers seen on LGRAB, Velo Vogue, and Velo City Girl blogs. I love Dottie and Trisha, my bicycles (all my bicycles), tea, and gardens.

     
  6. Ada

    August 13, 2013 at 9:41 pm

    Pity I am out of tow this weekend. I hope this is not the last tea you are having.

     
  7. Torea Rodriguez (@torea)

    August 18, 2013 at 5:57 pm

    I am so sad to be reading about this (catching up on blogs this weekend ) on Sunday the 18th! I totally want to do something like this and meet the other local gals. Will you be doing another one soon?

     
    • ladyfleur

      August 18, 2013 at 7:21 pm

      Oh, I’m sorry you didn’t get the message sooner. It would have been great to meet you. Yes, we’re planning more women’s bike socials and rolling tours. I have a schedule penciled in my head now. I’ll be promoting future events on the Silicon Valley Bike Coalition’s mailing list in addition to the blog.

      BTW, I just posted a short recap of the party with lots of photos. https://ladyfleur.wordpress.com/2013/08/18/hats-on-for-a-rolling-ladies-tea-party/ There’s a link to the sign-up for the SVBC mailing list in the post.

       

Leave a comment

 
Ancestral Pathways LLC

This site features a genealogy blog about the Ville Platte Louisiana area African descendant families of Frank, Jason, Denton, Ruben, Leday, Laughtin, Joseph

Jubilo! The Emancipation Century

African Americans in the 19th Century: Slavery, Resistance, Abolition, the Civil War, Emancipation, Reconstruction, and the Nadir

Grits & Gumbo

Southern family stories with a dash of spice

Granola Shotgun

Stories About Urbanism, Adaptation, and Resilience

FIT IS A FEMINIST ISSUE

Feminist reflections on fitness, sport, and health

madeonmyfingers

fun.fashion.art and design

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The Independent Bike Blog

A blog for bike shops

laurashelbyblog

A fine WordPress.com site

jimandsharonsbigadventure

Living the urban/bicycle life

South Bay Streetscape

Exploring Santa Clara County's urban limits

I'm Jame :)

what's on my mind: food, fashion, marketing, cities, tech & more

Let's Go Ride a Bike

Adventures in city cycling

The Backpack Objective

Exploring with kids in the outdoors and in homeschool

Shop by Bike

How and where to shop by bike in Silicon Valley, California

The Empowerment of the Silent Sisterhood

The blog of the Beautiful You MRKH Foundation www.beautifulyoumrkh.org