RSS

Bike Commute Diaries: Catching a Bike Skirt Garter

30 Apr

When it comes to city bike gear, I’m a minimalist. Other than the bike, all I usually bring along is a roomy pannier and a helmet. When I wear a dress without tights on warm days, I’ll slip on lacey bike shorts for extra modesty. Then last weekend, I decided to get crafty and make my own bike skirt garters. So far, so good. They’re cooler than bike shorts, more dignified than putting a penny in my pants, and just in time for summer.

Garter

How to Make Skirt Garters. I bought the garters for $4 at a costume store, then sewed on clasps recycled from a conference name badge lanyard (see close-up). Clasp the skirt hem as shown, or for a less visible look, clasp the skirt from inside a few inches above the hem. Allow space between clasps for pedaling motion.

About the Bike Commute Diaries: Launched in May 2012 for National Bike Month, this series explores the unexpected and surprising things I’ve seen and learned about bicycling for transportation.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on April 30, 2015 in Bike Crafts, Commute Diaries

 

7 responses to “Bike Commute Diaries: Catching a Bike Skirt Garter

  1. Cycleverse

    April 30, 2015 at 4:08 pm

    Great Idea! No more spandex, well maybe..Go skirts!

     
  2. Kim Walesh

    May 1, 2015 at 5:53 am

    the brilliant idea of the week!

     
  3. georgie

    May 2, 2015 at 12:33 pm

    Oooh I like that – you could get different colours to complement different clothes. That beats my peg that I gather my shirt up into and remedies the riding up of pencil skirts. Thanks! This will be great when I’m back at work after maternity leave and will save my child from his mother embarrassing him with flashing when cycling (currently I’m not that bothered).

     
  4. Jame

    May 4, 2015 at 1:43 pm

    I tried to make my own, with a clip to open! It turned out ok, I got the sizing a little off. Then I heard about this, and have been using it instead: http://www.bikepretty.com/shop/tandem-ny-skirt-weight

    For all of the non-crafties!

     
  5. labicichica

    May 14, 2015 at 12:04 pm

    Cute but too much fiddling for me. Has anyone tried one of these clip-on skirtweights? http://tandemny.com/ Kinda expensive but look easy to use. I took their idea and started using a common large-size office clip. Not bad!

     
  6. Brent

    May 14, 2015 at 2:50 pm

    Hey There Lady Fleur – I couldn’t find a ‘contact’ form to write you about this but thought you may be interested in it as a commuter in the Bay Area…and it is bike to work month. http://kck.st/1zxye2K

    Also, here is the press release for the product: http://www.crowdfundingpr.org/a-simple-and-effective-new-safety-tool-for-bicycle-commuters-to-celebrate-bike-to-work-month/

    Best,
    Brent

     

Leave a comment

 
Ancestral Pathways LLC

This site features a genealogy blog about the Ville Platte Louisiana area African descendant families of Frank, Jason, Denton, Ruben, Leday, Laughtin, Joseph

Jubilo! The Emancipation Century

African Americans in the 19th Century: Slavery, Resistance, Abolition, the Civil War, Emancipation, Reconstruction, and the Nadir

Grits & Gumbo

Southern family stories with a dash of spice

Granola Shotgun

Stories About Urbanism, Adaptation, and Resilience

FIT IS A FEMINIST ISSUE

Feminist reflections on fitness, sport, and health

madeonmyfingers

fun.fashion.art and design

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The Independent Bike Blog

A blog for bike shops

laurashelbyblog

A fine WordPress.com site

jimandsharonsbigadventure

Living the urban/bicycle life

South Bay Streetscape

Exploring Santa Clara County's urban limits

I'm Jame :)

what's on my mind: food, fashion, marketing, cities, tech & more

Let's Go Ride a Bike

Adventures in city cycling

The Backpack Objective

Exploring with kids in the outdoors and in homeschool

Shop by Bike

How and where to shop by bike in Silicon Valley, California

The Empowerment of the Silent Sisterhood

The blog of the Beautiful You MRKH Foundation www.beautifulyoumrkh.org